Modi Govt Gets AIADMK Boost as No-Trust Vote Turns Into Show of Strength for 2019

The government got the support of 325 members, while 126 backed the motion with 451 MPs present in the House. The final tally of the NDA was higher than the 314 figure projected by the party’s floor managers as it got the support of AIADMK.

The NDA government on Friday sailed through the no-confidence motion against it in the Lok Sabha after a nearly 12-hour debate that became a Narendra Modi vs Rahul Gandhi show. 

The motion that brought down the first National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government is again being brought to trouble it. One of the most dramatic no-confidence motions in Indian parliament was against the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government which had to go for want of just one vote in 1999. The YSR Congress has proposed a no-confidence motion against the NDA government on the issue of granting special category status to Andhra Pradesh. Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the NDA ally that has stormed out of .. 

No confidence motion in lok sabha against nda government

What is a no-confidence motion? 

A no-confidence motion is a parliamentary motion which is moved in the Lok Sabha against the entire council of ministers, stating that they are no longer deemed fit to hold positions of responsibility due to their inadequacy in some respect or their failure to carry out their obligations. No prior reason needs to be stated for its adoption in the Lok Sabha. 

How it works 

Once the Lok Sabha speaker decides that motion is in order, she would ask the YSR Congress/TDP floor leader if the party is pressing admission of its motion. At least 50 MPs would need to stand up and support the move. If there are 50 MPs in favour, the motion is admitted and the speaker allots a date for discussion on the motion. The prime minister or ministers reply to the charges made. The mover has the right to reply. After the debate, the speaker puts quest .. 

“Only the electorate of the country can decide his fate and make him sit on his chair,” Modi said, before asking, “What is the hurry?” Gandhi was present in the House when the Prime Minister made the statement.

Friday’s no-confidence motion, the 27th in Parliamentary history, was the first to be admitted in 15 years. The last was in 2003 when the Congress party moved a no-confidence motion against prime minister Atal bihari vajpayee.